Tradition of Excellence in Science Research Continues at NDA

Notre Dame Academy science research students had an outstanding performance at the Science and Engineering Fair of Northern Kentucky (SEFNK) on Saturday, February 24. NDA sophomore Molly Kleier won the “Best of Fair” award and an all-expenses-paid trip to the International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) in Pittsburgh in May.

Each of the NDA students placed first in her category and qualified to compete at the Kentucky Science and Engineering Fair in April. Under the direction of Mrs. Terri Perrino and Mr.Patrick Strickley, Notre Dame Academy took the top high school award as well. 

“It is wonderful to see the continued success of our Science Reasearch Program,” said NDA Principal Mr. Jack VonHandorf. “We are so proud of our students’ hard work and interest in the STEM fields,” 

NDA Science Research students won many category and special awards as listed below.

Molly Kleier – Class of 2020
Direct Methanol Fuel Cell, Phase II
  • 1st place, Best of Fair, International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) 
  • 1st place Best Overall Physical Science project
  • 1st place, Chemistry category
  • American Meteorological Society Award
  • NKU College of Chemistry Outstanding Project, 1st place 
  • Ricoh Corporation Sustainable Development Award
  • Thomas More College Scholarship Award

Morgan Weltzer – Class of 2019 
Volatile Organic Compounds Detector
  • 2nd place, Computer Science category
  • NKU College of Informatics Outstanding CS Projects, 2nd place
  • Ohio Valley Society of Toxicology 2018 Research Excellence, 1st place

Colleen Spellman – Class of 2019
Effectiveness of PAA and Hypochlorite for Wastewater Disinfection
  • 1st place, Environmental Science category
  • U.S. Stockholm Junior Water Prize, Regional Award

Lily Wade – Class of 2020 
Polarimeter for Chirality
  • 1st place, Engineering and Engineering Materials 
  • NKU Engineering & Eng Technology, Physics, & Astronomy, 2nd place

Haydon Ahlers – Class of 2021 
Essential Oils Versus Bacteria
  • 1st place, Microbiology
  • Thomas More College Scholarship Award