Blue Ribbon

Women Making a Difference

Women Making a Difference Luncheon Draws Record Crowd 

Notre Dame Academy women continue to make a difference to their families, their communities, and the world in which they live. This fact was clearly brought to light once again as Sister Mary Paul Ann Hanneken ’50,  Sister Mary Rachel Nerone ’54, Sister Mary Janet Stamm ’58, Annie Faragher Bennett ’66, and Sharon Bosch Foster ’83 were honored at the twentieth annual Women Making a Difference luncheon. Over four hundred alumnae, community and business leaders, family, and friends gathered on June 3 at the Northern Kentucky Convention Center to pay tribute to these Notre Dame Academy graduates for their significant contributions and achievements.

Mr. Jack VonHandorf, NDA Principal, began the luncheon with a prayer. Nancy Goeke, Director of Major Gifts and Events, recognized the Diamond, Platinum, and Gold Corporate Sponsors, and Dr. Laura Koehl and Mr. Jack VonHandorf then introduced each of the award honorees. The honorees were escorted to the stage by past WMAD honorees, Janet VonHandorf Schmidt, Connie Kaelin Roenker, Jan Steffen Hanser, Ruth Appel Averdick, and Holly Graziani Danneman.

Attendees at the luncheon came away with the renewed conviction that a Notre Dame education provides a strong ethic of service and dedication to others. The recipients consistently credited their dedication to serve to the education they received from the Sisters of Notre Dame and Notre Dame Academy.

Nominations are now being accepted and must be received no later than September 24, 2021.  To nominate a woman making a difference click HERE

Our Distinguished Past Honorees:

Mary Lee Stegman Aldemeyer '35
Ann McCabe Buenger '44
Trinette Foote '72
Judy Webster Gerding '58
Lisa Cooney Henderson '82
Judy Fisk Schneider '63

Fran Harden Carlisle '58
Virginia “Tep” Witemyre McCafferty '48
Denise Gehring Schickling '65


Sister Mary Laurence Budde, SND '47
Sally McGinnis Monahan '75
Patricia M. Summe '71

Deborah Ann Borchers '75
Patricia Rust Kovacs '71
Jean Schmidt Longshore '50

Mary Theis Bunning '50
Sister Jean Marie Hoffman '65
Jean Ann Glenn VonHandorf '44

Catherine (Kay) Laske '34
Amy McGrath-Henderson '93
Elizabeth Riche Read '39

Janet Annear Chambers '77
Michelle Dixon Eckerle '94
Carol Schmidt Mullen '53

Ruth Appel Averdick '69
Sister Georgia Marie Messingschlager 56
Mary Kay Woodruff Sommerkamp '81

Amy Quinn '90
Lynn Dietz Schworer '74
Carol Steltenkamp '79

Sister Ann Rene McConn '56
Amy Brake Thomas '92
Marilyn Willenbrink '60

Cathy Toebbe Ficke '69
Sr. Sebastien Schmidt, SND '45
Deb Moore Shaner '79

Kara Middendorf '96
Janet Von Handorf Schmidt '81
Kathy Talbert Thamann '69

Marcia Adick Klaene '61
Joan Kluemper, DMD '69
Mary Ann Blewett Robinson '55
Gabrielle Summe, Esq. '84

Julia B. Meister '87
Meghan Scherder Olson '91
Wendy Vonderhaar '86

Lisa Davis Louden '97
Sister Mary Ethel Parrott, SND '64

Gina Tuemler Wulfeck '76

Linda Scully Bricking ‘65
Katrina Wagner Brown ‘86
Penelope Bayless Rogers ‘60

Barb Fritz '68
Jan Steffen Hanser '76
Amy Wurtenberger Beck '78
Martha Wurtenberger Barnes '78

Rosa Hollis-Bird '62
Julie Prewitt Schneider '84
Karen Bieger Finan '77
Julie Mullen Bruns '87

Connie Kaelin Roenker '68
Peggy Murphy Barker '84
Dr. Holly Graziani Danneman '92

Sister Mary Paul Ann Hanneken, SND '50
Sister Mary Rachel Nerone, SND '54
Sister Mary Janet Stamm, SND '58
Annie Faragher Bennett '66
Sharon Bosch Foster '83

Sr. Mary Reina Arlinghaus Award Recipients
Mr. Robert Stevens - 2010
Mr. and Mrs. Richard and Jeanne-Marie Tapke - 2013
Mr. and Mrs. William and Sue Butler- 2016
Sr. Mary Rita Geoppinger, SND- 2017
Mrs. Mary Brown- 2018
Mr. and Mrs. Mike and Beth (Schuh '77) Dempsey - 2020